Ashley’s Weblog











{May 30, 2008}   Wow! No other word can be used to describe it!

Acts is probably one of my favorite books of the Bible. I think it would be amazing to be able to travel and spread Christ’s love the way Paul does! Maybe one day God will open the door for me to do something like that. So anyways, I was reading in Acts and hit these verses and was utterly captivated.

Acts 5:33-39 (NIV)

When they heard this, they were furious and wanted to put them to death. But a Pharisee named Gamaliel, a teacher of the law, who was honored by all the people, stood up in the Sanhedrin and ordered that the men be put outside for a little while. Then he addressed them: “Men of Israel, consider carefully what you intend to do to these men. Some time ago Theudas appeared, claiming to be somebody, and about four hundred men rallied to him. He was killed, all his followers were dispersed, and it all came to nothing. After him, Judas the Galilean appeared in the days of the census and led a band of people in revolt. He too was killed, and all his followers were scattered. Therefore, in the present case I advise you: Leave these men alone! Let them go! For if their purpose or activity is of human origin, it will fail. But if it is from God, you will not be able to stop these men; you will only find yourselves fighting against God.”

Wow. Enough said. I mean really this is amazing! Like God is really moving through this. My first thought was about this Gamaliel dude. I mean why did he stand up for the apostles? It would have been easy for him to totally say put these men to death. But, he didn’t. Instead, he challenged all the others in the Sanhedrin. I believe that God put these things in his heart. In a weird way it makes me think about the impact that I can make on others through my words and actions. Although this probably wasn’t the main focus of the passage my mind wanders to the things that I do and say on a daily basis that probably does not give glory to God. Anyway, the most AMAZING thing about this passage that utterly stood out to me the first time I read it was the way Gamaliel said that if the actions of the apostles were truly of God then nothing would be able to stop them. Acts was written a little less than 2000 years ago! And we still proclaim the name of Jesus. If that doesn’t stop you in your tracks and say, hey, what we believe is really true I don’t know what will. Gamaliel gives two examples of men who claimed to be what they were not, only to die and their followers scatter. Jesus wasn’t lying when he said he was the son of God. The proof is in the pudding so to speak. We still believe that this man named Jesus is the savior of our sins. Almost 2000 years later! Another thing that really got me was the calling God put into this passage. It gives Christians a verse to claim when it feels like they aren’t going to make it. When it feels like they are being persecuted and are failing. “For if their purpose or activity is of human origin, it will fail. But if it is from God, you will not be able to stop these men; you will only find yourselves fighting against God.” Wow. To have God on my side, makes me feel as if I can conquer all that is put in front of me if I trust in God. If God wants it to happen he is powerful enough to make it happen. My prayer is that I will become a vessel that he can use. I pray that I can continue to grow and not be afraid to tell others about him. I want to help reach the world for him.



Leave a comment

et cetera